The Frederick R. McManus Award

The delegates to the 1994 National Meeting of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions in Saint Louis were responsible for the establishment of a national award  which would recognize an individual who or organization which has made significant contributions to furthering the liturgical renewal in the United States. 

Subsequently, at its annual meeting in January 1995, the Board of Directors voted to name the award after Monsignor Frederick R. McManus and to designate him as its first recipient. Msgr. McManus (1923-2005) served as a peritus at the Second Vatican Council and drafted significant portions of the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy.  He served several terms as the President of the Liturgical Conference and was instrumental in establishing the Federation of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions.  He served as the Dean of the School of Canon Law at the Catholic University of America and was a leader in promoting dialogue with Orthodox Christians.  

Since establishing the award, the FDLC has presented it to the following:

1995 - Rev. Msgr. Frederick R. McManus
1996 - Rev. Godfrey Diekmann, OSB
1997 - Dr. John R. Page
1998 - Ms. Ade Bethune
1999 - Rev. Aidan Joseph Kavanagh, OSB
2000 - Liturgy Training Publications (Chicago, IL)
2001 - Most Rev. Daniel E. Pilarczyk
2003 - Most Rev. Donald Trautman
2004 - Sr. Kathleen Hughes, RSCJ
2005 - Mr. Robert E. Rambusch
2006 - Dr. Nathan D. Mitchell
2007 - Rt. Rev. Archimandrite Robert Taft
2008 - Dr. Richard Proulx
2009 - Rev. R. Kevin Seasoltz, OSB
2010 - Ms. Mary Frances Reza
2011 - Dom Anscar Chupungco, OSB
2012 - Rev. Msgr. Anthony Sherman
2013 - Rev. Paul Turner
2014 - Msgr. Kevin Irwin
2015 - Sr. Joyce Anne Zimmerman, CPPS
2016 - Rev. Jan Michael Joncas